Preparatory Course for Singapore-Cambridge GCE ‘O’ Level Examination (Intensive)

Preparatory Course for Singapore-Cambridge GCE ‘O’ Level Examination (Intensive)

  • Specially designed for students aged 15 years old and above, to prepare them for the GCE ‘O’ Level exam in order to qualify for local Polytechnics or Junior Colleges;
  • All subjects, other than Chinese Language, are taught in English by CPE-registered teachers;
  • All subjects taught in YMCA School follow the MOE syllabus.

 

Intake

Commencement Date

End Date

Duration

1

Tuesday 3 January 2017

Friday 17 November 2017

11 months (Full-Time)

 

Course Completion Requirements

Type of award at the end of course

Students must fulfill the following:

  • 90% attendance;
  • 50% pass in English Language and another subject or;
  • 50% pass in three subjects other than English Language.

Letter of Completion

 

Manner in which the Course will be taught

Teacher-student Ratio

Face-to-face in air-conditioned classrooms

1:30

Course Schedule

Subjects

Hours per week

Weekly Assembly and Chapel Service

1

English Language

7

Mathematics

4

Additional Mathematics

4

Combined Science (Physics / Chemistry)

6

Combined Humanities (Social Studies / Geography Elective)

5

Principles of Accounts

4

Chinese Language

2

Literature in Chinese (only offered in 2nd year)

4

Library

1

Schedule includes break time.

For a detailed description of subjects, please click here.

 

School Terms

Semester 1

Term 1

Tuesday 3 January 2017 – Friday 10 March 2017

Term 2

Monday 20 March 2017 – Friday 26 May 2017

Semester 2

Term 3

Tuesday 27 June 2017 – Wednesday 30 August 2017

Term 4

Monday 11 September 2017 – Friday 17 November 2017

 

School Holidays

Between Term 1 and 2

Saturday 11 March 2017 – Sunday 19 March 2017

Between Semester 1 and 2

Saturday 27 May 2017 – Sunday 25 June 2017

Between Term 3 and 4

Saturday 2 September 2017 – Sunday 10 September 2017

At the End of School Year

Saturday 18 November 2017 – Sunday 31 December 2017

 

Scheduled School Holidays

Youth Day

Sunday 2 July 2017 *

Day after National Day

Thursday 10 August 2017

Teachers’ Day

Thursday 31 August 2017

* The following Monday 3 July 2017 will be a scheduled school holiday.

 

Public Holidays

New Year’s Day

Sunday 1 January 2017 *

Chinese New Year

Saturday 28 January 2017 **

Sunday 29 January 2017 ***

Good Friday

Friday 14 April 2017

Labour Day

Monday 1 May 2017

Vesak Day

Wednesday 10 May 2017

Hari Raya Puasa

Sunday 25 June 2017 ****

National Day

Wednesday 9 August 2017

Hari Raya Haji

Friday 1 September 2017

Deepavali

Wednesday 18 October 2017

Christmas Day

Monday 25 December 2017

* Monday 2 January 2017 will be a public holiday.

** Tuesday 31 January 2017 will be a school holiday.

*** Monday 30 January 2017 will be a public holiday.

**** Monday 26 June 2017 will be a public holiday.

 

Examination / Assessment Period

Manner of Assessment

Expected Examination Results Release Date

Term Assessment 1 (TA1)

February

Written, oral, and / or practical

A report card will be issued within 14 days after the last TA / SA paper

Semester Assessment 1 (SA1)

May

Preliminary Assessment

August / September

Class Tests / Quizzes

Ad-hoc basis

Study Break and GCE ‘O’ Level Examination

October –November

Preparatory Course for Singapore-Cambridge GCE ‘O’ Level Examination (Intensive)

 Course Fees for International / PR Student

Description

Amount (S$)

Remarks

Application Fee

535.00

Non-refundable and non-transferable
Course Fee

12,070.14

-
Administration Fee

214.00

-
Fee Protection Scheme

160.50

-
Medical Insurance

85.60

-
Science Practical

1,070.00

-
Textbooks and Materials

716.90

Non-refundable once collected
Uniforms

171.20

Non-refundable once collected
Character Education Programme

642.00

-

Total Fees (with GST)

15,665.34

-

Miscellaneous Fees *

Description

Amount

Remarks

Student’s Pass Card

$90.00

Payable to ICA
Medical Examination

$50.00

Payable to the examining medical centre
Learning Journey

$20.00 per venue

Per venue; payable to YEC
External Examination Fee

Subject to SEAB charges

Payable to SEAB (Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board) http://www.seab.gov.sg
Bank Charges for TT

$20.00 to $30.00

Determined and deducted by bank
Extra Uniform

$32.10 per top / bottom

Per top / bottom
Overseas Exchange Programme

Not more than $4,000.00

Payable to YEC

* Miscellaneous Fees refer to any non-compulsory fees which the students pay only when applicable. Such fees are normally collected by YEC when the need arises.

Preparatory Course for Singapore-Cambridge GCE ‘O’ Level Examination (Intensive)

Course Fees for Singapore Citizen Student

Description

Amount (S$)

Remarks

Application Fee

214.00

Non-refundable and non-transferable
Course Fee

7,621.08

-
Administration Fee

214.00

-
Fee Protection Scheme

139.10

-
Medical Insurance

85.60

-
Science Practical

1,070.00

-
Textbooks and Materials

716.90

Non-refundable once collected
Uniforms

171.20

Non-refundable once collected
Character Education Programme

642.00

-

Total Fees (with GST)

10,873.88

-

Miscellaneous Fees *

Description

Amount

Remarks

Learning Journey

$20.00 per venue

Per venue; payable to YEC
External Examination Fee

Subject to SEAB charges

Payable to SEAB (Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board) http://www.seab.gov.sg
Extra Uniform

$32.10 per top / bottom

Per top / bottom
Overseas Exchange Programme

Not more than $4,000.00

Payable to YEC

* Miscellaneous Fees refer to any non-compulsory fees which the students pay only when applicable. Such fees are normally collected by YEC when the need arises.

Entry Requirements

1)   Student must be at least 15 years of age as at 1st January of the year of admission;

2)   Student must have a minimum of 9 years of prior education;

3)   Student’s English proficiency level must be equivalent to Singapore’s Secondary 3;

4)   Student must pass an interview with the Principal / Vice-Principal before application (For transfer student only);

5)   Approval from the Ministry of Education is required for Singapore Citizen students.

Download Prospectus

Download the Brochure

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you