Preparatory Courses for Admission to Government Schools (Secondary 1, 2 and 3)

Preparatory Course for Admission to Government Schools (Secondary 1, 2 and 3)

Prepare students for:

  • Admission Exercise for International Students (AEIS) Test
  • Supplementary Admission Exercise for International Students (S-AEIS) Test
  • Local Government School Entry Test

 

Intake

Commencement Date

End Date

Duration

1

Tuesday 2 January 2018

Friday 9 March 2018

10 weeks or 20 weeks

(Full-Time)

2

Monday 12 March 2018

Friday 18 May 2018

3

Monday 21 May 2018

Friday 27 July 2018

4

Monday 30 July 2018

Friday 5 October 2018

5

Monday 8 October 2018

Friday 14 December 2018

 

Course Completion Requirements

Type of award at the end of course

Students must fulfill the following:

  • 90% attendance;
  • 50% pass in English Language;
  • 50% pass in Mathematics.

Letter of Completion

 

Manner in which the Course will be taught

Teacher-student Ratio

Face-to-face in air-conditioned classrooms

1:20

Course Schedule

Subjects

Hours per week

Weekly Assembly and Chapel Service

1

English

22

Mathematics

6

Library

1

Schedule includes break time.

 

 

Scheduled School Holidays

Youth Day

Sunday 1 July 2018 *

Day after National Day

Friday 10 August 2018

Teachers’ Day

Friday 31 August 2018

* Monday 2 July 2018 will be a scheduled school holiday.

 

Public Holidays

New Year’s Day

Monday 1 January 2018

Chinese New Year

Friday 16 February 2018

Saturday 17 February 2018 *

Good Friday

Friday 30 March 2018

Labour Day

Tuesday 1 May 2018

Vesak Day

Tuesday 29 May 2018

Hari Raya Puasa

Friday 15 June 2018

National Day

Thursday 9 August 2018

Hari Raya Haji

Wednesday 22 August 2018

Deepavali

Tuesday 6 November 2018

Christmas Day

Tuesday 25 December 2018

* Monday 19 February 2018 will be a public holiday.

 

Examination / Assessment Period

Manner of Assessment

Expected Examination Results Release Date

Class Tests

Week 4 and week 8 of every intake

Written, oral, and / or practical

14 working days after the second test date of every term

Course Fees

Description

Amount (S$)

Remarks

Application Fee

535.00

Non-refundable and non-transferable
Course Fee

2,996.00

10 weeks
Administration Fee

214.00

-
Fee Protection Scheme

85.60

-
Medical Insurance

85.60

-
Textbooks and Materials

192.60

10 weeks; Non-refundable once collected
Uniforms

171.20

Non-refundable once collected

Total Fees (with GST)

4,280.00

-

Miscellaneous Fees *

Description

Amount

Remarks

Student’s Pass Card

$90.00

Payable to ICA
Medical Examination

$50.00

Payable to the examining medical centre
Learning Journey

$20.00 per venue

Per venue; payable to YEC
External Examination Fee

Subject to SEAB charges

Payable to SEAB (Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board) http://www.seab.gov.sg
Bank Charges for TT

$20.00 to $30.00

Determined and deducted by bank
Extra Uniform

$32.10 per top / bottom

Per top / bottom

* Miscellaneous Fees refer to any non-compulsory fees which the students pay only when applicable. Such fees are normally collected by YEC when the need arises.

Entry Requirements

Preparatory Course for Admission to Government Schools (Secondary 1)

1)   Student must be at least 12 years of age as at 1st January of the year of admission;

2)   Student has attained the passing mark for English in the highest / latest examination in the home country;

3)   Student must pass an interview with the Principal / Vice-Principal before application (For transfer student only).

Preparatory Course for Admission to Government Schools (Secondary 2)

1)   Student must be at least 13 years of age as at 1st January of the year of admission;

2)   Student has attained the passing mark for English in the highest / latest examination in the home country;

3)   Student must pass an interview with the Principal / Vice-Principal before application (For transfer student only).

Preparatory Course for Admission to Government Schools (Secondary 3)

1)   Student must be at least 14 years of age as at 1st January of the year of admission;

2)   Student has attained the passing mark for English in the highest / latest examination in the home country;

3)   Student must pass an interview with the Principal / Vice-Principal before application (For transfer student only).

Download Prospectus

Download the Brochure

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you

Download the Brochure

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you

Download the Brochure

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you