About YEC

YMCA Education Centre

YMCA Education Centre Limited (the “company”) was incorporated in the Republic of Singapore on 21 September 2010 under the Companies Act, Chapter 50 as a company limited by guarantee. Under Article 9 of its Memorandum of Association, each member of the company guarantees to contribute a sum not exceeding S$100 to the assets of the company in the event of the same being wound up.

The principal activities of the company are the provision of non-higher (YMCA School) and higher education (YMCA Higher Education) programmes. The company has been registered under the Enhanced Registration Framework with the Committee for Private Education (CPE)* for a period of 4 years and is valid from 12 October 2014 to 11 October 2018. The company has been awarded the EduTrust certificate for a period of 4 years, which is valid from 16 December 2015 to 15 December 2019.

The company is also a subsidiary of Young Men’s Christian Association of Singapore (the “parent”), which is registered in Singapore under the Societies Act and the Charities Act.

The address of the registered office and principal place of operation of the company is at 1 Orchard Road, Singapore 238824.

* The Committee for Private Education (CPE) is part of SkillsFuture Singapore (SSG).  For more information about CPE, please refer to their website https://www.cpe.gov.sg.

seminar02studentposing

History

Education service has always been an integral part of the YMCA movement worldwide. In each of the 1,700 YMCAs around the world, there are assorted education courses, enrichment programmes and professional workshops.

YMCA Education Centre began in 1913 as the YMCA Technical Education unit. Courses in Building Construction, Architecture, Mathematics, Theoretical Mechanics, Surveying, Electrical Engineering, Machine Construction and Drawing were arranged to train recruits for the Government’s Engineering Department and Post and Telegraphs.

Six years later in 1919, the YMCA Commercial Education unit started with courses in Shorthand, Typewriting, Book-keeping and Accountancy. In 1931, both units were merged to form the YMCA Classes. Standard V to School Leaving Certificate classes and London Chamber of Commerce Examinations preparatory courses were also introduced as part of new education initiatives. By the time war broke out in 1941, enrolment was well over 800.

With the end of the war, demand for office administration skills rose and pushed annual intake to 1500 students in 1950. With technical classes no longer organised, the school was renamed as the YMCA Commercial Classes. Throughout the 1960s and 1970s, the school was at the forefront of education innovation. It expanded its education offerings with professional and management seminars and talks, foreign language courses, and self-improvement courses, such as Starting a Business, Public Speaking, and Import and Export Procedures.

In 1985, YMCA Commercial Classes changed its name to YMCA Education Centre and was officially registered with the Ministry of Education of Singapore. An IT education unit, Computer Training Centre, was added to the school in 1988 to provide Singaporeans a good foundation programme for IT learning. The school started the Singapore-Cambridge General Certificate of Education (GCE) ‘A’ Level classes with an enrolment of 155 students in 1989, followed by GCE ‘O’ Level classes in 1990, and GCE ‘N’ Level classes in 1993. A Master of Arts in International Relations Degree programme was introduced in 2000. A year later, Early Childhood Care and Education Certificate and Diploma programmes jointly accredited by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports commenced. Student enrolment in GCE courses exceeded 495 in 2002.

YMCA worked out plans in late 2003 to integrate the student care services and child development services with the Education Centre. At the end of 2004, the YMCA Education Centre, Student Care Centres and Child Development Centres amalgamated under the umbrella of YMCA Education, which aims to offer every child that passes through programmes and activities at YMCA a holistic education experience from early-years to post-graduation. With a view to further expansion, the YMCA Education Centre changed its name to YMCA School in 2005. At the same time, YMCA School was also in-principle approved to conduct Edexcel (London) GCE courses and International Baccalaureate (IB) Middle Year Programme (IBMYP) and Diploma Programme (IBDP) (on trial implementation basis).

In 2010, YMCA School changed its name to YMCA Education Centre to encompass the Higher Education Arm. It is a not-for-profit education service of the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) of Singapore.

Our Vision

To be a Centre of excellence providing a holistic education based on Christian values to nurture leaders of distinction.

Our Mission

To provide a holistic education based on Christian values to nurture individuals who are caring, honest, respectful and responsible.

Culture Statement

At YMCA Education Centre we believe in a culture of Compassion, Servant Leadership, Honesty, Accountability, Respect and Excellence – our shared values. We are passionate about what we do and we continually improve the way we do things to add value to our customers and stakeholders. Our success is based on our shared values and commitment of our staff who believe in developing individuals for the future; in building strong relationships with our stakeholders and in seeking excellence in everything we do. We share our expectations with each other and we strive to maintain a workplace built on our core values, trust and goodwill.

Core Values

COMPASSION

To recognize the needs of others especially the last and the least, then take action to help.

SERVANT LEADERSHIP

To desire to serve first, then to make the conscious choice to take the lead to act.

HONESTY

To tell the truth, to act in such a way that you are worthy of trust, to have integrity; making sure your choices match your values.

ACCOUNTABILITY

To be accountable for our behaviour and our actions in meeting our obligations.

RESPECT

To treat others as you would have them treat you; to value the worth of every person, including yourself.

EXCELLENCE

To strive for best practices.

Facilities Overview

YMCA Education Centre (YEC), subsidiary of YMCA of Singapore, is located at Level 2 of the YMCA Building. It is strategically located in the heart of Orchard Road and a 5-minute walk to the Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. The Singapore Management University, the Singapore National Museum and Fort Canning Park are a stone’s throw away from YEC. YEC is also 10 – 15 minutes away from Plaza Singapura, POMO, the Singapore Art Museum and the Singapore Philatelic Museum.

The education centre has a total gross floor area of 989.195m² and can accommodate up to 306 students. All our classrooms are fully air-conditioned and equipped with tables and chairs. Learning equipment such as whiteboard, projector, projection screen and wireless internet connection are also available. Arrangements can also be made for refreshments to be provided outside the classrooms.

Classrooms:

We have 9 classrooms of different sizes, catering to different needs.

Room Floor Area (m²) Capacity Room Type
205 64.34m² 43 Classroom
206 65.32m² 44 Classroom
207 69.46m² 46 Classroom
208 32.94m² 22 Classroom
209 29.04m² 19 Classroom
210 37.57m² 25 Classroom
211 33.97m² 23 Classroom
Learning Cube 20.09 m² 13 Classroom
Learning Hub 105.79m² 71 Classroom

 

Agents

Download active agents list here.

Download Agents List

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you


Download inactive agents list here.

Download Agents List

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you

关于 YEC

YMCA教育中心

YMCA教育中心有限公司 (“公司”),根据公司法第50章,作为担保有限责任公司于2010年9月21日在新加坡共和国注册成立。根据公司章程第9条,公司每个成员保证一旦公司被清盘时贡献一笔不超过100元的公司资产。

公司的主要业务为提供非高等教育(YMCA学校)及高等教育(YMCA高等教育)课程。公司已经注册于新加坡 Committee of Private Education (“CPE”)* 的强化注册架构(ERF),有效期为4年(2014年10月12日至2018年10月11日)。公司已获得4年教育信托认证(EduTrust),有效期从2015年12月16日至2019年12月15日。

该公司也是新加坡基督教青年会协会(“母公司”)的附属机构,该协会是根据“社团法”和“慈善法”在新加坡注册的组织机构。

公司注册办公及营业地址为:新加坡乌节路1号(邮编:238824)

* The Committee for Private Education (CPE) is part of SkillsFuture Singapore (SSG).  欲知更多详情,请参阅CPE的网站 https://www.cpe.gov.sg

seminar02studentposing

历史

教育服务一直是全球基督教青年会(YMCA)运动的一个组成部分。在世界1,700个基督教青年会(YMCA)中,每一个都有各类教育课程、增益课程及专业研讨会。

基督教青年会(YMCA)教育中心始于1913年,是基督教青年会(YMCA)技术教育单位。课程包括建筑施工、建筑学、数学、理论力学、测量、电气工程、机械制造及绘画,主要为政府工程部门和邮电系统培训员工。

6年后,于1919年,基督教青年会(YMCA)开始提供商业教育课程,包括速记,打字,簿记及会计。1931年,这两个单位合并组成YMCA课程。作为引进新教育计划的一部分,课程包括V标准到学校毕业证书课程及伦敦商会考试预备课程。1941年二战爆发时,超过800人报名了基督教青年会(YMCA)的课程.

随着战争结束,办公室管理技能的需求上升,每年学生人数不断攀升。在1950年,学校招收了1, 500名学生。由于不再开设有技术类课程,学校被重新命名为YMCA商业课程。在整个20世纪60-70年代,学校是教育创新的最前沿。它扩大了教育服务,提供专业和管理研讨会与讲座、外语课程以及自我提升课程,如创办企业、公众演讲及进出口程序。

1985年,基督教青年会(YMCA)商业课程更名为YMCA教育中心,并在新加坡教育部正式注册。1988年学校增设了IT教育单元和计算机培训中心,为新加坡人提供了一个学习IT的良好的基础课程。1989年,学校开设新加坡剑桥普通教育证书(GCE)“A”水准课程,当年招收了155名学生。1990年,学校开设了新加坡剑桥普通教育证书(GCE)“O”水准课程。1993年,学校开设了新加坡剑桥普通教育证书(GCE)“N”水准课程。在2000年,学校引进了国际关系硕士学位课程。1年以后,幼儿保育和教育证书及大专文凭课程被教育部、社区发展部、青年及体育部联合认可。2002年,新加坡剑桥普通教育证书(GCE)课程的学生入学人数超过495人。

基督教青年会(YMCA)计划于2003年年底整合学生保健服务和儿童发展与教育中心的服务。2004年底,YMCA教育中心、学生托管中心和儿童发展中心合并于YMCA教育旗下,旨在让每一个孩子通过课程与活动在YMCA完成全面教育,从早期教育到后期大学教育。随着进一步扩大,YMCA教育中心于2005年更名为YMCA学校。与此同时,YMCA学校也原则上批准进行爱德思(伦敦)GCE课程、国际文凭(IB)年中课程(IBMYP)及文凭课程(IBDP)(试行)。

2010年,YMCA学校更名为YMCA教育中心,包括高等教育部分,是新加坡基督教青年会(YMCA)的一个不以营利为目的的教育服务机构。

我们的愿景

致力成为一个基于基督教的价值观、提供全面素质教育、培养优秀领导者的卓越中心。

我们的使命

基于基督教的价值观,提供全面素质教育、力求培养出关怀、诚实、尊重和有责任感的人才。

文化声明

在YMCA 教育中心,我们信仰爱心、仆人式领导力、诚实、责任心、尊重和卓越的文化,这也是我们共同的价值观。我们对事业充满激情,并不断精益求精为我们的客户和利益相关者创造更多的增值。我们的成功是基于共同的价值观和员工的承诺,他们相信个人的未来发展、与利益相关者建立稳固的关系并对事业追求卓越。我们分享彼此的期望,并努打造一个以我们的核心价值观、信任和善意为基础的工作环境。

核心价值观

爱心

认识到他人的需求,尤其是最后的或者最少的需要,并采取行动帮助。

仆人式领导力

愿意服务他人,并且做出自觉的选择来领导行动。

诚实

说实话,并且用行动证明你值得信赖,正直,确保你的选择与你的价值观匹配。

责任

对我们的行为负责,并且履行我们的义务。

尊重

对待别人的方式与你期望他们对待你的方式一致;重视每个人的价值,包括你自己。

卓越

为最佳的实践而努力。

设施介绍

YMCA教育中心(YEC)是新加坡基督教青年会的附属机构,位于YMCA大厦的二楼。学校地处繁华的乌节路中心,距多美歌地铁站仅5分钟。新加坡管理大学,新加坡国家博物馆和福康宁公园距学校只有咫尺之遥。从学校出发,只需10 – 15分钟即可抵达狮城大厦、POMO、新加坡艺术博物馆和新加坡集邮博物馆。
学校总建筑面积为989.195平方米,可容纳218名学生。所有的教室都配备空调及桌椅,教学设备齐全,包括:白板、投影机、投影屏幕及无线互联网连接。在教室外还可以安排提供茶点。
我们有8个教室来满足不同的学习需要。

教室:

房间 面积(平方米) 容纳人数 房间类型
205 64.34m² 43 教室
206 65.32m² 44 教室
207 69.46m² 46 教室
208 32.94m² 22 教室
209 29.04m² 19 教室
210 37.57m² 25 教室
211 33.97m² 23 教室
学习中心 105.79m² 71 增益课程/活动

 

代理

下载活跃代理名单请点击 这里

下载代理名单

名字 (必要)

电邮地址 (必要)

手机号码 (必要)


下载非活跃代理名单请点击 这里

下载代理名单

名字 (必要)

电邮地址 (必要)

手机号码 (必要)