Diploma in Business Administration

Diploma in Business Administration

Course Objectives and Expected Outcomes

The Diploma and Advanced Diploma in Business Administration offered by YMCA Education Centre aim to provide students with a good grounding of business management knowledge and skills equivalent to the first two years of an undergraduate degree programme. The courses will equip students with a broad introduction to business disciplines and an enhanced understanding of foundational issues and principles in the business environment.

Upon completion, these courses provide opportunities for students to progress to tertiary level courses in universities.

Diploma in Business Administration – Year 1 (DBA)

The objectives of the Diploma in Business Administration course are as follows:

  1. To provide students with the knowledge and skills that will enable them to progress to the Advanced Diploma in Business Administration.
  2. To develop students’ competencies and values related to the social roles played by business entities;
  3. To provide students with the necessary theoretical and practical knowledge of business at the foundation level;
  4. To lay the foundation for future professional development.
Graduation Requirements:

Students must achieve passes in all 8 modules a total 120 credit points. Students can then progress to the Advanced Diploma in Business Administration.

Course Synopses - Year 1 (Diploma in Business Administration)

Modules Synopses:

BA1011 Accounting

This module is an introductory course into accounting theories and practices. It provides undergraduates with basic accounting knowledge and concepts as well as the general industry practices.  This module will essentially cover the concepts of business accounting and critical areas of accounting such as cash, cash flow, receivables, inventories and fixed assets. The key focus will enable our undergraduates to understand the basic matching accounting concepts, accounting entries or adjustments and analyse transactions as these concept plays a critical role in today’s businesses.

BA1012 Economics

This module aims to provide a basic understanding of the economy.  Upon completion of this module, undergraduates will understand the effects of activities on economics and how these are translated into business opportunities or threats.  This module will encompass both Micro and Macro Economics and Elasticity, Supply and Demand within the market.  The concepts of Perfect Market, Monopoly, Oligopoly or Controlled verse Open Markets, Inflation and Unemployment, Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Gross National Product (GNP) and Net National Income, Market Factors affecting International Trades and Policy Markers ‘Decisions will be shared with our undergraduates.

With the understanding of the above concepts, undergraduates will understand that economics activities are interrelated and how it affects our way of life, why some countries are more developed than others and how economics factors are measured and how it influence our currencies and purchasing power.

BA1013 Marketing Management

This module enables students to critically examine the dynamics and complexities of marketing in the business environment and impact on organisational strategies and structures. Emphasis will be placed on the practical application of marketing techniques and the management of a firm’s marketing resources and activities. It also allow student to critically assess key strategies from different managerial perspectives and evaluate their effectiveness and to formulate marketing proposals, actions and business challenges.

BA1014 Information Technology

This module develops and provides students an extensive understanding of how information systems are used to help an organisation meet their goals. Students will know the different techniques and procedures that are used to produce information and gain a good knowledge of techniques to solve problems. Students will learn about the capabilities and characteristics of hardware and operating systems. The module will help students to solve problems and identify different types of information systems.

BA1015 Cross Cultural Management

This module aims to increase the awareness of the significance and impact of cultural diversity varies with the type of environment and firm’s overall strategy. It provides students with the theoretical and practical tools in order to improve their productivity when working and doing business with people from other cultures, and make the students more aware of their personal orientations. The module prepares the students to critically examine the cultural impact on management reflected by basic values, attitudes, beliefs and behaviour of the people, which can affect technology transfer, managerial attitudes, managerial ideology and even government-business relationships.

BA1016 Business Management

This module provides the essential information and skills required by professional who have to make decisions that are important to the direction and performance of an organisation or business. The module will develop students as managers to understand the major aspects of management that are needed to ensure the business is conducted in a manner that is progressive, profitable, effective and efficient and maintain competitive advantage in the dynamic global environment.

BA1017 Contract Law

This module provides students with thorough understanding of the principles of contract law, the nature of a business contract. Emphasis will be placed on the terms and clauses frequently used in the drafting of contracts. Students will learn how to terminate a contract and know the remedies available for breach of contract and how to resolve the contractual disputes. The module will enable students to know how to conduct the businesses effectively within the laws of business and companies.

BA1018 International Business

This module is designed to provide students with basic knowledge about international business and the implications of international business on organizations’ strategies, structure and functions, particularly in the face of the fast growing pace of globalization. Students are exposed to all dimensions of international business from international business theories, national and international environments, international legislation to international management as well as other related aspects.

Course Schedule

Entry Points

There will be 4 entry points: January – April – July – October.

Course Duration

The Diploma in Business Administration comprises 8 modules to be completed over a period of 10 months for the full-time course or 12 months for the part-time course. 15 credits will be awarded upon completion of each module.

Course Outline

The course is made up of 120 credits consisting of a total of 8 multi-disciplinary core subjects as follows:
year1

Diploma in Business Administration (Full-time)

Description Amount S$ (Singapore Citizen/ Permanent Resident) Amount S$ (Foreign Citizen) Remarks
Application Fee 200.00 500.00 Non-refundable and non-transferable
Administrative Fee 200.00 200.00 -
Course Fee 4500.00 5,500.00 -
Fee Protection Scheme Fee 100.00 100.00 -
Medical Insurance 80.00 80.00 Optional for Singapore Citizen / Permanent Resident
Study Materials 600.00 600.00 Non-refundable once collected
Total (without GST) 5,680.00 6,980.00 -
GST 397.60 488.60 -
Total (with GST) 6,077.60 7,468.60 -

Other External Costs

Description Amount S$ Remarks
Student’s Pass Card 90.00 Payable to ICA
Medical Examination 50.00 Payable to the examining medical centre
Bank Charges for TT 20.00 to 30.00 Determined and deducted by bank

Minimum Entry Requirements

Age:

17 years old and above

Singaporean / PR Applicants:

2 GCE ‘A’ Level passes
OR
YMCA Certificate in Business
OR

Matured applicants:

minimum 30 years of age with 8 years’ work experience and completed Secondary Education.

International Applicants:

Completed Year 12 of formal education; OR YMCA Certificate in Business.

English Proficiency:

IELTS 4.5; OR C6 at GCE ‘O’ Level; OR Pass YMCA English Proficiency test if English is not the language of study.

Other equivalent qualifications will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Download the Brochure

Click here to download the brochure

Download the Brochure

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you

YMCA 商业管理大专文凭

YMCA 商业管理大专文凭

课程概述

YMCA 商业管理大专及高级大专文凭旨在为学生提供良好的商业管理知识与技能基础,它相当于本科学位课程的前两年学习。本课程将为学生提供商业学科课程的概括性介绍,并加强学生对商业环境中的基本问题和原则的理解与认识。这些课程除了作为资格文凭以外,还为学生提供了获得职业大专文凭并晋升到高等教育课程大学第三年学习的机会。

YMCA商业管理大专课程的目标如下:

  • - 为学生提供使他们能够晋升到YMCA商业管理高级大专课程学习的知识与技能
  • - 为将来继续职业发展打下基础
  • - 培养学生在公司的社会角色方面的能力与价值观
  • - 为学生提供必要的商业基础理论和实践知识

毕业要求:

通过全部8门课程并获得120学分。之后,学生可以进入商业管理高级大专课程学习。

YMCA 商业管理大专课程

8门:

BA1011 会计

本课程是会计理论和实践的基础课程。为学生介绍基本的会计知识和概念,以及一般行业惯例。课程主要包括商业会计及会计关键领域,如现金,现金流,应收账款,存货和固定资产的概念。重点将让学生了解基本的匹配会计概念,会计分录,调整和分析交易,因为这些概念在今天的商业领域中起着至关重要的作用。

BA1012 经济学

本课程旨在让学生对经济学有基本的理解。完成本课程学习后学生将理解经济活动对经济的影响以及它们是如何转变成商业机会或威胁。本课程将包含宏观经济学、微观经济学及弹性、市场供给与需求。也将使学生掌握一些经济学概念,包括完全市场、垄断、寡头垄断或控制、开放市场、通货膨胀率和失业率、国内生产总值(GDP)、国民生产总值(GNP)、国民净收入、影响国际贸易和决策的市场因素。上述概念将帮助学生理解经济活动是相互关联的,以及它是如何影响我们的生活方式,为什么一些国家比其他国家更发达,如何衡量经济因素,以及它如何影响我们的货币和购买力。

BA1013 市场营销管理

本课程将使学生认真审视在商业环境中营销的动态与复杂性以及它对组织策略与结构 的影响。课程重点将放在营销技术的实际应用和管理公司的营销资源与活动。课程培养学生从不同的管理角度来审慎评估主要策略,并评估其有效性、制定营销方案,行动和商业挑战。

BA1014 信息技术I

本课程开发并为学生提供了一个广泛的了解如何使用信息系统,以帮助组织实现其目标。学生将了解用于生产信息的不同技术及程序,并获得良好的解决问题的技术知识。学生将学习有关硬件和操作系统的功能和特性。本课程将帮助学生解决问题,并识别不同类型的信息系统。

BA1015 跨文化管理

本课程旨在提高不同的环境和公司整体战略下的文化多样性的意义和影响。它为学生提供了理论和实践工具,使之与来自不同文化的人们工作与经商中提高工作效率,也使学生更多地了解他们的个人取向。本课程将使学生能够严格审视文化对管理的影响,体现在基本价值观,态度,信念和行为,这些可能会影响技术转让,管理观念,管理思想,甚至于政府与企业的关系。

BA1016 商业管理

本课程提供需要由专业人士做出对企业发展方向及业绩的重要决定所须的必要信息和技能。本课程将培养学生作为经理人去理解管理所须的主要方面,以确保商业的运作方式是进步的、盈利的、有效和高效的、并在动态的全球环境中保持竞争优势。

BA1017 合同法

本课程为学生提供深入了解合同法的原则及商业合同的性质。学生将重点学习在起草合同时经常使用的术语和条款。学生还将学习如何终止合同、了解违反合同的可用补救措施、以及如何解决合同纠纷。本课程将使学生懂得如何在商业和企业法律范围内有效地开展业务。

BA1018 国际商务

本课程旨在为学生提供关于国际商务的基本知识、及其在全球化快速发展下对组织战略、结构和功能的影响。学生将接触到国际商务的所有方面,从国际商务理论、国内与国际环境及国际立法到国际化的管理以及其他相关领域。

课程学制

开学日期

每年4次开学:1月、4月、7月、10月。

商业管理大专课程包括8门科目,全日制课程将在10个月内完成、兼职课程将在12个月内完成。每门课程结束后将获得15个学分。

课程大纲

本课程共计120个学分,包括以下8门不同学科核心课程:

dipchi

商业管理大专课程 (全职)

费用类别

额(新币

(外国公民)

额(新币

(新加坡公民 / 永久居民)

申请费 500.00 200.00 不可退还并不可转让
行政管理费 200.00 200.00 -
课程费 5,500.00 4,500.00 -
学费保障计划 100.00 100.00 -
医疗保险 80.00 80.00 新加坡公民 / 永久居民可选
学习资料 600.00 600.00 一旦领取,所交费用概不退还
总计(未含消费税) 6,980.00 5,680.00
消费税 488.60 397.60
总计(含消费税 7,468.60 6,077.60

费用包括消费税。

入学要求:

满足以下条件之一

  • GCE ‘O’水准或同等资格 – 5门C6通过
  • 2门GCE ‘A’水准通过, 包括General Paper
  • Higher NITEC (ITE)

申请者须具备足够的英文(相当于至少雅思4.5分,或GCE‘O’水准C6 通过) / YMCA 高级英文课程60%通过YEC英文水平测试

下载跟多资料

prospectus

点击这里下载资料

Download the Brochure

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Mobile (required)

 By submitting your contact details, you have given your consent for a YMCA representative to contact you