Preparatory Course for Secondary One and Two

Preparatory Course for Secondary One and Two

  • Specially designed for students aged 12 years old (Secondary One) or 13 years old (Secondary Two) and above, to prepare them for the GCE ‘O’ Level exam at the end of the Secondary 4 course in order to qualify for local Polytechnics or Junior Colleges;
  • All subjects, other than Chinese Language, are taught in English by CPE-registered teachers;
  • All subjects taught in YMCA School follow the MOE syllabus.

 

Subjects Offered

English Language

Mathematics

General Science

Chinese Language

Geography

 

 Intake

Commencement Date

End Date

Duration

1

2 January 2020

20 November 2020

11 months (Full-Time)

 

Course Completion Requirements

Type of award at the end of course

Students must fulfill the following:

  • 90% attendance;
  • 50% pass in English Language and another subject or;
  • 50% pass in three subjects other than English Language.

Letter of Completion

 

Manner in which the Course will be taught

Teacher-student Ratio

Face-to-face in air-conditioned classrooms

1:30

 

 

 

 School Terms

Semester 1

Term 1

Thursday 2 January 2020 – Friday 13 March 2020

Term 2

Monday 23 March 2020 – Friday 29 May 2020

Semester 2

Term 3

Monday 29 June 2020 – Friday 4 September 2020

Term 4

Monday 14 September 2020 – Friday 20 November 2020

 

School Holidays

Between Term 1 and 2

Saturday 14 March 2020 – Sunday 22 March 2020

Between Semester 1 and 2

Saturday 30 May 2020 – Sunday 28 June 2020

Between Term 3 and 4

Saturday 5 September 2020 – Sunday 13 September 2020

At the End of School Year

Saturday 21 November 2020 – Thursday 31 December 2020

 

Scheduled School Holidays

Youth Day

*Sunday 5 July 2020

Teachers’ Day

Friday 4 September 2020

* Monday, 6 July 2020, will be a scheduled school holiday.

 

Public Holidays

New Year’s Day

Wednesday 1 January 2020

Chinese New Year

Saturday 25 January 2020

*Sunday 26 January 2020

Good Friday

Friday 10 April 2020

Labour Day

Friday 1 May 2020

Vesak Day

Thursday 7 May 2020

Hari Raya Puasa

**Sunday 24 May 2020

Hari Raya Haji

Friday 31 July 2020

National Day

***Sunday 9 August 2020

Deepavali

****Saturday 14 November 2020

Christmas Day

Friday 25 December 2020

*Monday, 27 Jan, will be a public holiday & Tuesday, 28 Jan, will be a school holiday.
**Monday, 25 May, will be a public holiday.
***Monday, 10 Aug, will be a public holiday.
****Monday, 16 Nov, will be a school holiday.

 

Examination / Assessment Period

Manner of Assessment

Expected Examination Results Release Date

Term Assessment 1 (TA1)

February

Written, oral, and / or practical

A report card will be issued within 14 days after the last TA / SA paper

Semester Assessment 1 (SA1)

May

Term Assessment 2 (TA2)

August

Semester Assessment 2 (SA2)

October

Class Tests / Quizzes

Ad-hoc basis

 

Course Fees for International / PR Student

Description

Amount (S$)

Remarks

Application Fee

535.00

Non-refundable and non-transferable
Course Fee

13,140.14

-
Administration Fee

214.00

-
Fee Protection Scheme

160.50

-
Medical Insurance

85.60

-
Textbooks and Materials

716.90

Non-refundable once collected
Uniforms

171.20

Non-refundable once collected
Character Education Programme

642.00

-

Total Fees (with GST)

15,665.34

-

Miscellaneous Fees *

Description

Amount

Remarks

Student’s Pass Card

$90.00

Payable to ICA
Medical Examination

$50.00

Payable to the examining medical centre
Learning Journey

$20.00 per venue

Per venue; payable to YEC
External Examination Fee

Subject to SEAB charges

Payable to SEAB (Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board) http://www.seab.gov.sg
Bank Charges for TT

$20.00 to $30.00

Determined and deducted by bank
Extra Uniform

$32.10 per top / bottom

Per top / bottom
Overseas Exchange Programme

Not more than $4,000.00

Payable to YEC

* Miscellaneous Fees refer to any non-compulsory fees which the students pay only when applicable. Such fees are normally collected by YEC when the need arises.

 

Course Fees for Singapore Citizen Student

Description

Amount (S$)

Remarks

Application Fee

214.00

Non-refundable and non-transferable
Course Fee

7,733.96

-
Administration Fee

214.00

-
Fee Protection Scheme Fee

139.10

-
Medical Insurance Fee

85.60

-
Textbooks and Materials Fee

716.90

Non-refundable once collected
Uniform Fee

171.20

Non-refundable once collected
Character Education Programme

642.00

-

Total Fees (with GST)

9,916.76

-

Miscellaneous Fees *

Description

Amount

Remarks

Learning Journey

$20.00 per venue

Per venue; payable to YEC
External Examination Fee

Subject to SEAB charges

Payable to SEAB (Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board) http://www.seab.gov.sg
Extra Uniform

$32.10 per top / bottom

Per top / bottom
Overseas Exchange Programme

Not more than $4,000.00

Payable to YEC

* Miscellaneous Fees refer to any non-compulsory fees which the students pay only when applicable. Such fees are normally collected by YEC when the need arises.

Entry Requirements

Preparatory Course for Secondary One

1)   Student must be at least 12 years of age as at 1st January of the year of admission;

2)   Student must have a minimum of 6 years of prior education;

3)   Student’s English proficiency level must be equivalent to Singapore’s Primary 6;

4)   Student must pass an interview with the Principal / Vice-Principal before application (For transfer student only);

5)   Approval from the Ministry of Education is required for Singapore Citizen students.

Preparatory Course for Secondary Two

1)   Student must be at least 13 years of age as at 1st January of the year of admission;

2)   Student must have a minimum of 7 years of prior education;

3)   Student’s English proficiency level must be equivalent to Singapore’s Secondary 1;

4)   Student must pass an interview with the Principal / Vice-Principal before application (For transfer student only);

5)   Approval from the Ministry of Education is required for Singapore Citizen students.